The First of Many

Well, I finally made it. 10 years of dreaming, 5 years of saving, and 4 months of pure prep!  I took of on March 6th and landed in New Zealand on March 8th.  Good by 7th, I never knew ye.

Getting to the airport from San Diego went off without any logistical hitch, except for enterprise rental car ripping me off hard.  I guess it was my fault for thinking that a nice guy that I had a good conversation with at the lot would tell me if a gas option was a rip off….guess not ( which I knew was, but he explained it would only be $15 extra, thought I would save time. Ya, cost me $50). Fool me once….

Other than that, no issues, actually Air New Zealand, who are awesome by the way, waved one of my extra baggage fees, saving me $80, and there business lounge was well stocked with food, and booze!  All hose years hoarding my miles payed off.

I arrived in Auckland at about 5:30 a.m.  And promptly proceeded to forget my hoody on the plane, the only one I brought on the, damn!  No big deal really, as it was probably 70 out at 6 in the morn.

Auckland from a back street

Auckland from a back street

Main ferry terminal in Auckland

Main ferry terminal in Auckland

I made it through the bio security at the airport with no problem, which is funny because  sports equipment and camping equipment that had been used near soil where some of the main items they listed as potential contaminants, and I had twice as many bags as any other traveler, packed with snow and surf boards and various camping items. Oh well, hope I didn’t just destroy the eco-system.

I hopped a bus to city center, Auckland, and proceeded to the hostel, which wasn’t exactly easy with 7 bags 3 of which are larger than I am.  Sweaty and exhausted I stumped into the hostel, a massive 10 story building with like 600 college age kids doing there thing……I feel old.

The next few posts will be regarding my preparation for the move….some interesting bits of info if you are looking to do a big trip.  Until then my friends.

Oh, I promise that I won’t add in any kiwi slang, as it is annoying and cliche. Also no entries about how spiritual, soul searching, awakening, self finding, life changing experiences I’m having, also cliche.  This is all about the nuts and bolts,  Bru!

Here are some pics of my first day in Auckland.  I walked around and found some stuff.

Spirit of New Zealand

Spirit of New Zealand

Stumbled upon a fish market.  This is Snapper

Stumbled upon a fish market. This is Snapper

This is Blue Moki

This is Blue Moki

Right behind the fish market was a fish and chips place.  I watched them fillet the fish, batter it and drop it into the fryer.  Not a bad first NZ meal!

Right behind the fish market was a fish and chips place. I watched them fillet the fish, batter it and drop it into the fryer. Not a bad first NZ meal!

Its a big boat city

Its a big boat city

5 responses to “The First of Many

  1. Hey, Cecc!!

    Congrats on the move! Enjoy yourself. Perhaps we can meet up at some distant time and location. Until then, fair travels.

  2. Nice dood. In future posts, I’d love to hear more about the spiritual, soul searching, awakening, self finding, life changing experiences you’re having.

  3. Looks like you figured out your camera. Great pics will be important to keep us all informed of your adventures!

  4. Angie Escalera

    You made it…let the adventure begin! Good Luck!
    Keep in touch. Angie

  5. Barbara Briscese

    Thanks for the Maori story. Shared the pictures with Supa students who now reading The Bone People.

Leave a Reply

