Van Frustrations

Trying to buy a used car in New Zealand is just as bad as buying a used car in the states.  The big difference, which is actually probably similar between the two places, is that I am trying to spend about $4000-5000 NZD = $2500 USD.  Now knowing the type of car that is worth $2500 in America is bad enough, through on top of that the fact that most of the vehicle in that price range have been driven by at least 30 under 25 year olds that have no idea about motors, and the fact that they need basic maintenance, such as an oil change every 6000 kilometers, or 3,000 miles.

This is the first van I had checked out by a mechanic for $140.  Its was a 4x4 but ended up being in bad condition. Damn!

This is the first van I had checked out by a mechanic for $140. Its was a 4x4 but ended up being in bad condition. Damn!

So it should be no surprise when I tell you that I have looked at over 50 vans and found only oil soaked engine after nightmarish body condition, over and over.  However they have this one type of van called a Toyota Hiace.  Look it up online, cool looking little things, resemble a VW Minibus.  These things are regularly known to go over 1,000,000 klm or about 621,300 miles.  They are the world taxi cars and apparently you can’t kill them.  Although from what I have seen you can maim them almost beyond recognition.  To be fare most of those are from the 80’s, most around 20 years old.

This is the second van I had a mechanic look at for $160.  This one was small, but the owner knew a lot about maintaing cars, so I figured this on would be in better condition than most. It wasn't, had some sever rust issues that I couldn't see when I did my check. Double damn!

This is the second van I had a mechanic look at for $160. This one was small, but the owner knew a lot about maintaing cars, so I figured this on would be in better condition than most. It wasn't, had some sever rust issues that I couldn't see when I did my check. Double damn!

So I’ve been pretty frustrated the first two weeks in Auckland.  I really feel stuck, as they as good as most US cities with mass transit, so I can only really get around the city center, which is limiting my car search to only very local areas.  I want to get out of the city so bad and get to the ocean and get wet and surf.  I want to be able to start to explore this country!

Leave a Reply

