Van Acquired!

1996 Toyota Hiace.  The best make and engine of van you can get in NZ

1996 Toyota Hiace. The best make and engine of van you can get in NZ

There she is, in all her glory

There she is, in all her glory

I got a van!  This doesn’t sound like a big deal, and it really isn’t, but this search has tormented my life for almost a month now.  But that’s all over, so let me tell you about the new ride!

Its a Toyota Hiace, which is pretty much used as a workman’s van here.  Almost all are plain white, but a random colored one shows up now and then.  So…..mine is red, really red.  I own a red car, I never thought i would say that.  But, after so much searching, checking out vans, It wasn’t hard to see that this van was it.  I didn’t need to look for more than 5 min to see that this van had been well cared for, well maintained, built out well, and in wonderful condition.

van5

Hey, put that steering wheel where it belongs!

Hey, put that steering wheel where it belongs!

Its a diesel, yes I own a diesel.  Its totally foreign to me, it rumbles and idles hard, and whines…..which I guess is what makes a diesel a diesel.  There is a built bed in the large cargo area, a large electrical converter, for charging and plugging all sort of things.  The van also came with bedding, cooking gear, a great engine, and a ton of room.  Oh and racks for my boards!

What the..... fury bear bed cushions?

What the..... fury bear bed cushions?

van2

Van came with some cooking / camping gear

Van came with some cooking / camping gear

all my gear loaded in

all my gear loaded in

I’m bidding on a Thule box for the racks, to put wet gear away and keep in locked up and out of the cab.

They sell cuban cigars here, forgot the rest of the world doesn’t have an embargo against them.

2 responses to “Van Acquired!

  1. Dude…that is siiiick. I might have to fly out to NZ now. Awesome van…great buy!

  2. Now you know that the van shopping was meant to be a hassle. You had to wait for the van with the bed and the curtains already built in! Awesome.

Leave a Reply

