Remodeling the Van

van_remodel6

Tore out the buit in bed

Tore out the built in bed

The van came with a bunch of extras, a bed, a huge 800 watt inverter, some cooking and camp gear.  However the bed was built too low to fit my board bags underneath, so some remodeling was necessary.   It just so happened that the week I stared to build, the 3 year Kiwi clean out was going on, where everyone can put all there trash on the curb and the disposal company will pick it up.  This was fortunate, as one of the main trash items was scrap lumber, perfect for building out a van!

Having fun cutting with saw

Having fun cutting with saw

The smallest power drill of all

The smallest power drill of all

Getting the sizing down.  Notice the black box over teh wheel well.....thats my safe.  Boohya!

Getting the sizing down. Notice the black box over the wheel well.....that's my safe. Boohya!

I bought a super small Black and Decker rechargeable drill, a saw with miter box and a hammer.  I tore the bed apart collected all the brackets and screws and began to rebuild the bed with more clearance underneath. My favorite addition is a metal tool box that will moonlight as a safe for all my valuable electronics and camera gear.

Frame done! made with scavenched wood. a variety of found screws and improper tools.  We will see if it hold up.

Frame done! made with scavenged wood. a variety of found screws and improper tools. We will see if it hold up.

Fitting the matress platform

Fitting the mattress platform

I hid the safe under the cushion of the bed, but it is still easily accessible without having to shift anything major.  I added a few shelves and a laptop stand. Finally ready for travel.  it took ,me about 3 days of trying to working around not having the right tools, the right amount or type of lumber, or the right fasteners.  I also miss power tools and truly appreciate how hard it was to do carpentry before precise power tools.

I really miss power tools.  How do the amish do it. Impossible to keep a straight cut with a hand saw.

I really miss power tools. How do the Amish do it. Impossible to keep a straight cut with a hand saw.

It took me 4 days, and a few versions, but I raised the bed, and added a few shelves and storage spots.  I picked up a 3 burner stove, and gas bottle, for $50 NZD.  The bottle alone is worth $40, got a great deal!  The van is ready!  Boohya!

2 responses to “Remodeling the Van

  1. That is badass. Take some pics of it all done and packed up with your stuff, curious how you got it all to fit (assuming you measured everything correctly 🙂

Leave a Reply

