On Taranaki, land of the volcano, and surf

From Mt. Munganui it was a 4 hour drive across the island to the west coast.  I was headed to catch a south east swell that was hitting the west coast outcropping known as the Taranaki region.  This entire land mass is formed by a volcano that rises from the sea to a massive, classic volcanic peak.

Its an awesome spot to surf, not only because its exposed to the good consistent swells coming off the Tasman sea, but also because of the variable coast line shape.  Lots of points and reef breaks, and a few scattered beach breaks.  Oh and did I mention that there is a huge fricken volcano in the background!

I only got a day here, stayed in a really nice hostel and checked a bunch of surf spots.  Lets say I made a bad decision, and did get in the water.  But I will be back to this spot to spend quite a bit of time in the spring.  I’m excited for that!

There she is, thats a massvie volcanic cone

There she is, that's a massive volcanic cone

Kinda reminds me of Mt. Hood, except there I couldn't shoot the mountain with my feet in the pacific

Kinda reminds me of Mt. Hood, except there I couldn't shoot the mountain with my feet in the pacific

One of the many bays and reefs that dot the coast line

One of the many bays and reefs that dot the coast line

Time for some rice and tuna in red curry.  It comes in a can already made up! That little stove is rad. I'm cooking at a cool little surf spot with a gravel road and great little grassy knoll.  I should have surfed here.  Still pissed at myself for not.

Time for lunch, some rice and tuna in red curry. It comes in a can already made up! That little stove is rad. I'm cooking at a cool little surf spot with a gravel road and great little grassy knoll. I should have surfed here. Still pissed at myself for not.

Leave a Reply

