Kiakoura

Once on the south island, I drove about another 90K and pulled over in a small town and found a quite street to rest and bed down for the night.  Its creepy sleeping in a van in the middle of no where, but once I pull the curtains, my van becomes a little self enclosed cocoon, and I feel comfortable enough to sleep.

The next morning I awoke very early, before sunrise and drove another 2 hours directly to Kiakoura.  I have been told that this is one of the most beautiful places in NZ to surf.  As I drove down road 1 south toward Kiakoura I emerged along the coast. Excitedly I pulled off at the first view spot I could to check if the surf was up.  Of course it was not…wha wha.  I decided I would just get down to Kiakoura and check out the town and the surf spots for future reference, and then continue down to Christchurch where I was meeting a friend and was going to let me stay at her place for a night or 2.

As I approached the general Kiakoura area, I could see a mountain range that climbed directly up from the coastline.  I began to understand why this area is so beautiful to surf.  I pulled into the car park for the premier break in the area, and immediately saw how good the spot could be when it had swell.  The coast line was a long bending point with a rock boulder bottom and shore.  Here if you can get barreled the view at the end is snow capped mountains that hang over you and hit the ocean directly ahead.  I can’t wait to surf here!

I drove into town and luckily the weather and clouds moved in, creating amazing light all day.  I was able to snap a few pictures and check out the town.  I had a great lunch at the Kiakoura seafood BBQ stand, a land mark in Kiakoura and a cool little place to eat along the water edge.

Beautiful Kiakora, Mountains and Sea

Beautiful Kiakora, Mountains and Sea

Beautiful Kiakora, Mountains and Sea 2

Beautiful Kiakora, Mountains and Sea (notice the helicopter?)

Beautiful Kiakora, Mountains and Sea 3

Beautiful Kiakora, Mountains and Sea 3

Kaikoura Seafood BBQ Stand

Kaikoura Seafood BBQ Stand

The Grill

The Grill

They call these crayfish

They call these crayfish

The sandwich is called a Paua Fritter.  Its made by dicing up Paua, which is like an abalone and then fried together with an egg.  In the cup is seafood chowder.  Yum!

The sandwich is called a Paua Fritter. Its made by dicing up Paua, which is like an abalone and then fried together with an egg. In the cup is seafood chowder. Yum!

Close up of the paua fritter

Close up of the paua fritter

3 responses to “Kiakoura

  1. The paua fritter sandwich looks delicious, even with a bite out of it. Your other pictures are great, too!

  2. Phil, Keep your spirits up $ is and always will be an issue no matter how much or little you have. The idea is to be true to your dreams and find ways to move on. It may take you to places or circumanstances you could not of anticipated thats what an adventure is. Go Phil Go!

  3. Rich Lebel

    Phil, YOU ARE THE MAN! Marisa and I are here rooting you on. looks like your having the time of your life. Your doing great, and we are all really proud of you!

Leave a Reply

