Flat and a Job in Queenstown

So….Queenstown is a bit of a made up place in NZ.  There really shouldn’t be anything there, as its pretty much in the mountains, with no modern industry around.  In the valleys near by, wine is grown and is one of the best places in the world to grow Pinot.  But QT is just a town near some ski fields that has tried and make itself in the “adrenaline” capital of NZ and the world.  There are 3 of the highest bungee jumps in the world located here, and skydiving, jet boating, and rock climbing are some of the major attractions in the region.

It is time to have another season on the snow, and to bum it by getting a part time job to facilitate the stay. I arrived in mid fall, quite a long time from major snowfall, and the tourist and snow lovers that accompany it.  Most of the restaurants are either cutting back to a skeleton crew, or shutting down for a month or so.  Basically there is a very slim chance of getting a job here for another month and a half.  The worrisome part, is that there is a slow increase to a mass flux of people just like me, waiting to crash QT for a job and a flat for the season.  So I’m not sure how to play the situation.  Do I stay, keep hitting up places and begging for work, or do I get a flat, hand out a resume, and head back to Dunedin for surf?  Maybe I can work in a hostel there and stay for free. Maybe I can find a job there.  I am still going to be paying for a place in QT and won’t be staying there…..man, I can’t seem to hit the right place at the right time.

I think I’m going to get a flat, pay for rent for a month and a half or so, and wait for the season to catch up with me.  I am dropping of my resume and a number of restaurants in the area, call each week, and poke my head in from time to time to see if I can create an impression to get a kitchen/waiter job.  This may sound stuck up, but I never though I would have to try so hard to get a crappy resort job.  Just proves that no matter what value you think you may have, step out of your area of expertise, and you are just another schmuck that needs to scrap like everyone else to get anything.

I found a flat and moved in.  Most of the building here don’t have central heating, and if you think about that, in a town that is built around ski fields, you can imagine just how cold the places are.  Oh, and electric is super expensive, and electrical heaters are really inefficient….so, guess I am going to be keeping my riding gear on all night in the house.  I’m slowly regressing from the idea of snow.  I really like tropical surf….this may be the last push for snow.

I think I’m going to head back to Dunedin to score a little more surf before the winter hits.  I have about a month and a little, and I can go and hang out with new friends, surf, and maybe even get a job in the bigger city.  Just need to figure out accommodation.  I surely can’t afford to pay for 2 places at once.  Man my money is going frighteningly fast!

Leave a Reply

