Otago Peninsula, Cliffs, Wind, Rain

Above the Cove, Looking out to Alan's Beach on the Otago Peninsula

Above the Cove, Looking out to Alan's Beach on the Otago Peninsula

After 4 days of blown out surf, rain and gloom I finally got fed up and decided to drive out to the Otago Peninsula to hike a bit.  The peninsula creates and protects the thriving Dunedin Port.

I wanted to check out a stop called lovers leap. This is a tall hill top that meets the sea via a rocky 300 ft cliff wall.  I was told about the spot when surfing inside an inlet at a hidden local spot that is protected by the hill from the sever southern winds.

I was also told that magic mushrooms could be found along the walk due to the sheep grassing fields and the droppings they inevitably leave behind. As I thought about this all I could think of was….Hmmmm a place named as a suicide spot that shares space with psychedelics…makes sense to me.

Lovers Leap looking down at sea cave.

Lovers Leap looking down at sea cave.

On top of the cliff, the winds where sustaining speeds of 60k.  There weren’t gusts, it was like being in a wind tunnel, where the wind is just constant.  I just opened my arms, let my jacket turn into a wing, and stood at 45 degrees.  I just kept giggling because the wind just never let up.  The rain was hitting me so hard it was stinging my face.  As I looked over the cliff from the wooden deck viewing area, the updrafts coming off the cliff walls was sending the rain drops straight up.  Never thought I would see it rain up in my life.  I took the picture above as fast as I could since I did not have my water housing with me.  I hope to go back on a nicer day and get better pics.

Looking back at Otago.  On the trail to Lover's Leap

Looking back at Otago. On the trail to Lover's Leap

I have been trying really hard not to make any mention of Lord of the Rings, but sometimes certain spots, landscapes, or areas just really remind me of a scene, and I always think….did they film here?

The Dark Road Ahead

The Dark Road Ahead

Better remember to drop some bread crumbs!

Better remember to drop some bread crumbs!

Leave a Reply

