Surfing the Cove With Dinosaurs and Penguins

cove_treeIn Dunedin, on the Otago Peninsula there is a remote beach, only accessible by dirt road, and private farm land.  The west most part of the beach forms a cove which is guarded by a dinosaur, and protects the sucky barreling waves from most wind directions.  I was taken here by the guys here when I first arrived in Dunedin, but didn’t return for several weeks.

The winds and swell lined up for the cove this week, and I ventured out there to catch some waves.  The first day I was there was a seriously sub par performance day for me, and I was very frustrated.  At the end of my session, as I paddled into the shore, I noticed at the waters edge a few funny looking birds exiting the surf.  At first I couldn’t make out what they where.  They didn’t float like normal sea birds, but their head shape was the same.  As they slide out of the water, to my surprise, they stood up and started to waddle!  I was getting out after a day of surfing with 2 penguins who where coming in for the night.  I’m not sure how many places in the world a surfer can do this.  It made me totally forget about my crappy surfing ability.

Can you see the dinosaur head?

Can you see the dinosaur head?

One of the smaller beach break waves at the cove

One of the smaller beach break waves at the cove

I headed back out the next 2 days, and dropped into some of the biggest heaviest beach break I have ever been in.  It was fun and scary at the same time.  I was hoping to catch a few pictures of penguins exiting the water, but had no luck…..however I did have my camera to get pics of the dino, and the awesome backdrop of the cove, which is Fletcher’s Inlet.

Fletcher's Inlet Sunset

Fletcher's Inlet Sunset

Flechers Inlet Sunset

Fletchers Inlet Sunset

A few days before on one of the rare small surf days here, I walked Aramoana beach(place I took pics of the great a-frame waves a few weeks ago) and took some pics, and ran into a water lion.

Hello Water Lion! Thought you where a rock.

Hello Water Lion! Thought you where a rock.

Ara's Birds

Ara's Birds

2 responses to “Surfing the Cove With Dinosaurs and Penguins

  1. Daniel Fallon

    Is a water lion different than a sea lion? Or is that a sea lion and you are just bad at english?

  2. Well, there are water lions and water dogs, that one was a water (sea) lion if you will. Not to be mistaken with a tiger (land shark) Its creative english my friend.

Leave a Reply

