International Rugby in Dunedin

My friend Ed (the guy that let me stay with him in Arrowtown for a few weeks while I found a flat in QT) planned to travel the 4.5 hours from Arrowtown and the mountains to Dunedin for an international rugby test match between the All Blacks (NZ’s national team) and the French national team.  They happened to have an extra ticket, which they graciously offered to me.

Carisbrooke Stadium. All Blacks vs France

Carisbrooke Stadium. All Blacks vs France

The stadium in Dunedin is on its last leg, as they are planning to build another one in the next year or so.  Its called Carisbrooke and it reminds me of a AA or AAA baseball stadium in the states.  People or “Rugabuggies” from all over the country made the pilgrimage to Dunedin for the match.  The stadium holds 30,000 and in a city as small as Dunners the extra travelers really packed the city.

All Blacks vs France

All Blacks vs France

We drank a lot, watched the game in which the All Blacks got trounced (I know your happy Dino) in a semi boring game (I was told).  One of the Kiwi’s that came down with Ed for the game tried to explain to me the rules and strategy, which I slightly grasped.  I’m sure less booze would have helped me understand more.

Something happening....I think this was a breakaway for a french score.

Something happening....I think this was a breakaway for a french score.

All in all it was a pretty cool expirence, We all found out that Kiwi’s arn’t the routiest of people at a sporting event, but Ed the Englishman loves to yell at a green field….Ahh the English.

Leave a Reply

