Not the Lowest Temperatures, But the Coldest Winter I Have Ever Spent

Outside the Queenstown FlatOutside the Queenstown Flat

Main Room

Main Room

Well, I have finally relocated to Queenstown for the next 2-3 months and the winter.  Being from upstate NY, I have experienced my fair share of cold winters.  I will never forget the mornings that your nostrils stick together when you inhale, or the crunch of super cold snow under foot.  I even remember being in Breckenridge, Colorado when it was -5 F on the mountain.  Those are some cold temps.

Main Room From Stairs

Main Room From Stairs

Here in Queenstown, at the southern part of the south island, we are at 45 degrees latitude, same as most of NY.  The sea keeps the temperature semi mild, around 5 C or 40 F.  With that being said, it dips to freezing most nights and frost is normal in the morning.  We are only at 300m (900 ft) above sea level, so elevation isn’t the issue either.  The ski field starts at 1622 m (5,320 ft) and the peak is around 2300 m (7546 ft) and it tends to stay around -5 c (23 F).  So not crazy low temperatures.  However think about being in the snow, and living in a house with no insulation, and no heat.  Well that is what the reality is here in NZ.  Not sure why, but they never made houses here with central heating.  They rely on electric heaters, and these things called head pumps which are like ac units for heat.  Electricity here is stupid expensive, so running electric sucking, inefficient heaters is pricey and tough when living in a resort town and making squat for money.

Main Room From Above

Main Room From Above

Kitchen

Kitchen

The strategy is to turn the heater on for a few hours in the evening, and warm up the bedroom, which I basically never leave.  When I’m in the kitchen or common room I can see my breath.  I am pretty much cold all the time.  My feet never thaw out during the day.  This will inevitably be the coldest winter I’ll ever spend anywhere.  This was unexpected.

From Kitchen

From Kitchen

Ohh…the place I am renting was probably built 8 years ago……..

My Room

My Room

View from the front balcony

View from the front balcony

4 responses to “Not the Lowest Temperatures, But the Coldest Winter I Have Ever Spent

  1. View from the balcony “priceless”.

  2. Daniel Fallon

    Dude, clean your room!….and wash your car!

  3. Very nice apartment…..even if it is frigid!

  4. Hey Phil. Uncle Clem and I are constant visitors to your site. It is all fascinating and it is wonderful to be able to follow your journey. You are one heckuva gutsy guy to follow this dream. Most folks spend a lifetime conjuring such an adventure anchored to their Lazy-Boys, but you’re doing it!!! Keep forging ahead Phil, and stay as warm as possible. We are visiting your family in North Rose for the weekend, arriving tomorrow on your Dad’s b’day. We will miss seeing you on this visit. Phil be well. Oh… particularly loved the great photos of your skydive and the fabulous apple pie. You’re a real Renaissance Man!!!! XXX

Leave a Reply

