The Jade Factory Job

How are you today?  Sorry I missed that question due to your accent, can you repeat it?  Hmmmm.....I'm not sure, let me ask the owner about that.

How are you today? Sorry I missed that question due to your accent, can you repeat it? Hmmmm.....I'm not sure, let me ask the owner about that.

Even though I couldn’t score a job in Queenstown, I somehow managed to find work in a tiny town about 20K away called Arrowtown.  This was the small hamlet that I stayed in when I first ventured into the mountains to set up living and working situations.  I stayed with my friends Ed and Stephanie and took some great fall pictures.

The job I was able to land is part time….very part time, like 2 weekends a month, 8 hours a week, to break it into even more ridiculous time frame. And the even weirder part is the job itself, I am a sales clerk at a Jade (greenstone) and opal jewelry store and factory.  The store is aptly named The Jade and Opal Factory

Jade Factory Show Room

Jade Factory Show Room

Looking At Front

Looking At Front

Looking Back at The Shop Room

Looking Back at The Shop Room

I work with the owner and his partner father who are also the sculptors.  I greet people as they come in and try and answer there questions, which I usually can not, as I know nothing about jewelry.  I can’t say that I fit in in a retail environment, and definitely not a jewelry store.  I do my best though, and basically just sit around and work on my design work, its a very slow time for the shop at the moment….the winter.

I have talked to Lee, the owner a lot about his shop, the tools he uses, and how to work the stone.  Its interesting since I love woodworking and its close to the same process and tools except he has to use diamond cutting blades and dental tool grinding bits to sculpt with since the greenstone is one point harder than tensile steel.

Lee Sculpting

Lee Sculpting

He is Polishing some pendants out of Greenstone (Jade)

He is Polishing some pendants out of Greenstone (Jade)

Close Up

Close Up

The Factory Floor

The Factory Floor

Factory Floor

Factory Floor

Sculpting Bay

Sculpting Bay

Factory Floor at Saw

Factory Floor at Saw

Sliced Raw Rock

Sliced Raw Rock

Rough Shaped Pendant Forms

Rough Shaped Pendant Forms

Jade Boulder and Roughly Cut Stone

Jade Boulder and Roughly Cut Stone

They do some beautiful work, take a look:

Wall Display. Various sculptures on the bottom, Book ends on the top, and a wood sculpture done by an Auckland based Maori sculpture

Wall Display. Various sculptures on the bottom, Book ends on the top, and a wood sculpture done by an Auckland based Maori sculpture

Window Display with Jade Pendants, Sculptures and Shell Jewelry.

Window Display with Jade Pendants, Sculptures and Shell Jewelry.

Another Window Display. Jade animal sculptures and pendants

Another Window Display. Jade animal sculptures and pendants

Wood Maori Sculptures

Wood Maori Sculptures

Various Shell Jewelry. Mother of pearl, fresh water pearl, catseye, paua shell (abalone shell)

Various Shell Jewelry. Mother of pearl, fresh water pearl, cat's eye, paua shell (abalone shell)

$30,000.00 NZD!

$30,000.00 NZD!

Wood and Jade Axes.  Used by the Maori as tools and weapons.  As I said before Jade is one point harder that steel.

Wood and Jade Axes. Used by the Maori as tools and weapons. As I said before Jade is one point harder that steel.

Flower Jade Pendants. Flower jade comes from the outer most part of the rock where the oxidation has seeped into the rock.  Its rarer stone as each rock only yields a small amount.

Flower Jade Pendants. Flower jade comes from the outer most part of the rock where the oxidation has seeped into the rock. Its rarer stone as each rock only yields a small amount.

Flower Jade Pendants

Flower Jade Pendants

Flower Jade Pendant Close Up

Flower Jade Pendant Close Up

Flower Jade Pendant

Flower Jade Pendant

Large Jade Sculptures

Large Jade Sculptures

Large Jade Koru.  Symbolizes Harmony and New beginnings.

Large Jade Koru. Symbolizes harmony and new beginnings.

One response to “The Jade Factory Job

  1. Beautiful.
    This sounds like a fun and creative environment….even if the job is a crashing bore!

Leave a Reply

