A Week In Sydney

Sydney

Sydney

I arrived in Sydney around 6 at night.  I collected all my large bags and caught a shuttle to the hostel that was recommended to me by a friend in NZ.  The hostel is located in Kings Cross, an area just to the east of the CBD.  To get to the heart of the city it is only a 20 min walk.

Kings Cross is considered the red light district is Sydney, however it seems that each street changes, and only the main street through the area has a seedy side, while the side streets are packed with cafes and tree lined city residential housing.

Once I got to the hostel I grabbed a bite to eat then, crashed out.

The next day I tried to contact friends of friends and tried to find a storage unit.  About mid day I walked to the Botanical Gardens that are famous in Sydney.  Its is an amazing urban park, and the crown jewel at the end of the walk is the Sydney Opera House.

Walking through the park is incredible.  There are cockatoos just hanging out and will walk right up to you.  Thousands of large cat sized bats hang from the trees.  They look like winged squirrels.  There where hand sized spiders and a variety of other birds.  The vegetation is also unique to Australia, and the whole park seemed foreign to me.

Bats in the Sydney Botanical Gardens

Bats in the Sydney Botanical Gardens

More Bats

Birds will just walk right up to you.

Birds will just walk right up to you.

Cockatoo

Cockatoo

View of Sydney from Botanical Gardens

View of Sydney from Botanical Gardens

Sydney Opera House

Sydney Opera House

Opera House

Opera House

Opera House

Opera House

Opera House

Opera House

*******

*******

*******

*******

*******

*******

*******

*******

*******

*******

*******

*******

Sydney Opera House

Sydney Opera House

From the opera house, Sydney Harbor and the bridge are viable and across to Manly.

Standing at the opera house looking across the harbor towards Manly

Standing at the opera house looking across the harbor towards Manly

*****

*****

Looking back at the city from the opera house

Looking back at the city from the opera house

I continued to walk all day around the city, exploring the CBD area, and some of the nice urban parks surrounding the city.  I also worked my way down to china town and the paddy markets, which are excellent for fresh veggie shopping but are also filled with endless stalls filled with cheap mass produce china crap.

I walked through Hyde Park which is a beautiful urban park that runs along a long axis.

Hyde Park

Hyde Park

Hyde Park

Hyde Park

Hyde Park Chess

Hyde Park Chess

After a long day of walking I went back to the hostel and relaxed for a while.  I planned to meet up with my friend Jesse whom I met when I first arrived in New Zealand, and she has since moved to live in Sydney.  It was great to meet up with a friend in a foreign city.  She introduced me to some of her friends and we had a night out.

At the moment Sydney is on par with NYC prices.  The strong Aussie dollar and the weak USD make for a frighteningly expensive time for Americans in Australia.  After a week, I easily spent more than I will in a month in Thailand.  I keep thinking that it just isn’t worth being in a western country, your money just doesn’t go far enough, especially when compared to visiting the 3rd world.

A week was long enough in Sydney and I was ready to get out of the city.  Next stop Thailand! I cannot wait to eat and eat and eat!

2 responses to “A Week In Sydney

  1. Bethany Lukens

    hyde park looks so pretty. when i see you (in a week from tomorrow EEEEK!!!!!) help me figure out a way to spend my life’s allotment of US government loans on getting a doctorate degree and then get up and move to some foreign land where i can basically work pro-bono to help some poor children learn to walk again. oh, and help me come up with a scheme to score myself a sugar daddy or some fat grant money so i don’t starve to death. much love and i can’t wait to see you.

  2. Mom Lukens

    I awoke this morning and thought of the three of you in Lima. I hope you arrived safely and made it to your hotel. Sleep well.I’m sure you need it after a long flight. When you awake let me know you have safely arrived. Enjoy your first day in Lima Peru!

Leave a Reply

