Weekends In Melbourne

Melborne is a rad city.  I really find myself enjoying it.  It reminds me a lot of New York City but without the filth or despair.  I am surprised by Aussie as it has a familiarity for me.  The culture, people, and feel of the place is really similar to the states and all the good and bad that comes with that similarity.

A good way to describe and relate Aussie and its two main cities is this:  If Sydney, with its great weather, harbor and hills geography, and glitz could be compared to LA, Melbourne would be its opposite. It would represent New York City in the states.  Melbourne is the cultural hub and has a great little grit and underground vibe to it.

Out In Melborune

Out In Melborune

Torquay is a quite town in the winter, so for a few weekends I drove the 100K, 1.5 hours to Melbourne for some entertainment.  My friends Ed and Steph who I met in New Zealand are living right in the city and offered me a couch anytime I came up.  Ed works in a restaurant so he is busy on the weekends and at nights.  This means that most times in the city I have wandered alone.   I even had a few nights out on the town by myself.  One or two nights alone out is not too bad, but after that it starts to feel a little sad.

Section 8

Section 8

Section 8 is a cool concept bar.  The space is a asphalt lot down a tight street.  The owner put 2 shipping containers in the space and made one into a bar and one into storage and toilets.  The tables and sitting area are exposed and the whole lot becomes a beer garden.  Each time I have been to Section 8 the music selection has been some of the best I have listened to anywhere I have ever been….no joke.

Some Little Watering Hole

Some Little Watering Hole

I’m by myself here in Hell Upstairs.  Cool little bar on a really great cafe filled street in the heart of Melbourne.

Croft Institute

Croft Institute

From Wednesday through Sunday there is a permanent and very large farmer market in Melbourne.  It is one of my favorite places in the city so far.  The main enclosed building has delicatessens, and some great bakeries.  Another section of the building are occupied by butcher and seafood stalls.  Out behind the building under an open air roof are all the veggies.  Across the road are rows and rows of selling booths filled with everything from cheap Chinese goods to footwear, clothing, souvenirs and everything in between.

Victoria Market

Victoria Market Deli's

Victoria Veggie Farm Market

Victoria Veggie Farm Market

Victoria Veggie Farm Market

Victoria Veggie Farm Market

Victoria Veggie Farm Market

Victoria Veggie Farm Market

Getting to and from Melbourne from Torquay is pretty convenient.  I can drive, or catch a train from the South Geelong train station which is about 20 minutes from my house in Jan Juc.  The train drops me off right in the city proper at the Southern Cross Train Station.  One way takes about 50 minutes.

Southern Cross Train Station

Southern Cross Train Station

Southern Cross Train Station

Southern Cross Train Station

Thanks for reading!

One response to “Weekends In Melbourne

  1. I enjoyed the pictures of the market.
    You tricked meeee into reading this. I thought you had just randomly found it and decided to share it with me
    I ended up reading the other posts, the pictures of the waves look very cool . I am looking forward visiting those places
    12 weeks

Leave a Reply

